Log In | Contact Us | View Cart (0 items)
Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Record Groups

Claude Matlack photographs of South Florida

Overview

Abstract

Scope and Contents

Biographical Note

Administrative Information

Detailed Description

Residences in Miami Proper and Grounds

Residences in Miami Beach and Grounds

Residences Elsewhere

Apartments in Miami Proper

Apartments in Miami Beach

Apartments Elsewhere

Hotels in Miami Proper

Hotels in Miami Beach

Hotels Elsewhere

Public Buildings, Stores, Theaters, Garages, Clubs, Hospitals

Buildings under Construction, All Kinds

Old Pictures: Views of Places, Streets, Buildings, and Events

Development, Construction of All Kinds Except Buildings

Street Views, Parades, Bridges

Public Parks, Views and City and County Monuments

Churches and All [Related] Activities, [Such As] Choirs, etc.

Scenery, Views General, Sky Lines, River Views

Commercial: Auto Wrecks, Machines, Commercial Objects

Groups and Individuals, Street Clothing

Bathers and Groups

[Bathing] Casinoes, Pools, Water Sports, Aqua Planing

Boats, Slips, Docks, Boat Slipping

Race Boats and Regattas

Fishing, Pleasure and Commercial, Fish

Polo and Around Grounds

Golf Players and Individuals

Golf Clubs and Grounds, General Views and Tournaments

Schools and All [Related] Activities

Other Sports, Dog and Horse Races, Baseball, Jai Alai, Tennis, etc.

Indians

Farming, Groves, Gardens, Tractors, Implements, Products

Dairies and Products, All Kinds of Livestock, Poultry

Animals: Pets, Birds, Elephants, Dogs, Monkeys, etc.

Air Views, Local, Also from Tall Buildings

Air Views, not Local (Except Everglades National Park Area)

Aviation, Aviators, Planes, All War Pictures, Soldiers, Sailors

Factories and Products

Storm Pictures

Motion Pictures, Making

Trips to Other Cities or Localities

Scouts, Boys and Girls and Similar

Outings, Picnics, etc.

Waterways, Canals (not scenic value), Dredges, Dredging

Things and People, Prints cannot be sold

Copies of Art Objects that we may sell

Dancing Classes and Individuals, and All Professional Acts and Actors

Surgical and Medical, X-rays

Portraits and Garden Pictures of Individuals

Commercial Pictures that are for temporary use

Everglades National Park Area and All Kinds of Pictures in Area

Photographs Matlack did not assign to series 1-50.



Contact us about this collection

Claude Matlack photographs of South Florida, 1896-1943 | HistoryMiami Archives & Research Center

By Finding aid encoded by Rebecca A. Smith on November 09, 2005

Printer-friendly Printer-friendly | Email Us Contact Us About This Collection

Collection Overview

Title: Claude Matlack photographs of South Florida, 1896-1943Add to your cart.View associated digital content.

Predominant Dates:1918-1942

ID: 02/1952-001

Creator: Matlack, Claude Carson (1878-1944)

Extent: 12.0 Linear Feet. More info below.

Arrangement:

Arranged numerically (usually also chronologically) in 50 topical series established by the photographer. Prints and corresponding negatives have a two-part number (e.g., 14-1), in which the second number (-1) is the series and the first number (14-) is the item. A 51st series is arranged by a four-digit number, and contains photographs Matlack did not assign to one of the topical series.

Prints and negatives are filed separately.

Date Acquired: 00/00/1952

Abstract

Black-and-white photographs of places and people in Miami Beach, Miami, other parts of Dade County, the Florida Keys, and the Everglades; and to a lesser extent, of Fort Lauderdale, the Bahamas, and Fort Jefferson. Series include buildings of various types, Seminole Indians, people at beaches, recreational boats and boating, polo, golf, school children, aviation, film making, dredging and construction.

Scope and Contents of the Materials

The bulk of the collection are 5x7 photographic prints. Views are of places, building exteriors, events and people in Miami, Miami Beach, and South Florida. Examples of topics include: clearing mangroves on Miami Beach and construction of the Overseas Highway; Seminole and Miccosukee Indians, mainly at Musa Isle and along the Tamiami Trail; present-day Everglades National Park, Tamiami Trail and environs, present-day Big Cypress National Preserve, and Ft. Jefferson (Dry Tortugas).

Corresponding negatives exist for most of the photographic prints. 5x7 inch negatives include original safety negatives and direct duplicate negatives made from nitrate-based negatives. 4x5 negaives include original safety negatives, direct duplicate negatives made from nitrate-based negatives, and copy negatives made from the 5x7 prints.

Matlack kept several logs, which record number, date photographed, and, for about half the entries, brief subject. The photographer's logs are in several original, post-bound binders.

Biographical Note

Commercial photographer. Matlack worked in Miami and Miami Beach between 1918 and 1942.

Administrative Information

Alternate Extent Statement: circa 7,300 items

Access Restrictions: The photographic prints and logs are open for research.

Use Restrictions: Permission from Historical Museum of Southern Florida staff required prior to reproduction of drawings and photographs in a publication. Please contact archives staff for more information.

Physical Access Note: Negatives not available due to fragility. Use photographic prints or digital images.

Acquisition Source: Mileo Photo Shop

Acquisition Method: Gift.

Appraisal Information:

Some of the photographs were said to have been damaged during the 1964 hurricane (the museum, then directly on Biscayne Bay, sustained water damage. This may or may not account for the missing series (they disappeared before 1974).

Nitrate-base negatives destroyed during the 1970s, to reduce fire hazard. Many of these negatives were copied on direct-duplicate film prior to destruction.

The photographic prints were removed from acidic albums in 1983-1984. Some of the prints were accidentally torn during the process.

Separated Materials: Matlack's Kentucky photographs were transferred to the University of Louisville photographic archives sometime between 1973 and 1977.

Related Publications:

Obituary. In Tequesta, no. 4 (1944), p. 57.

Thomas, Samuel W. Dawn Comes to the Mountains. Louisville, Ky.: George Rogers Clark Press, c1981. Pictorical account of Matlack in Kentucky.

Preferred Citation: Claude C. Matlack Collection, HistoryMiami.

Other Note: Item-level database available for research in the archives. Digital images are attached to some of the database records.


Box and Folder Listing


Browse by Series:

[Series 1: Residences in Miami Proper and Grounds, 1919-1928],
[Series 2: Residences in Miami Beach and Grounds, 1921-1943],
[Series 3: Residences Elsewhere, 1924-1930],
[Series 4: Apartments in Miami Proper, 1920-1928],
[Series 5: Apartments in Miami Beach, 1920-1942],
[Series 6: Apartments Elsewhere, 1923-1926],
[Series 7: Hotels in Miami Proper, 1919-1936],
[Series 8: Hotels in Miami Beach, 1920-1942],
[Series 9: Hotels Elsewhere, 1923-1930],
[Series 10: Public Buildings, Stores, Theaters, Garages, Clubs, Hospitals, 1913-1935],
[Series 11: Buildings under Construction, All Kinds, 1925, 1932],
[Series 12: Old Pictures: Views of Places, Streets, Buildings, and Events, 1896-1940 (bulk 1896-1920)],
[Series 13: Development, Construction of All Kinds Except Buildings, 1920-1938],
[Series 14: Street Views, Parades, Bridges, 1919-1943],
[Series 15: Public Parks, Views and City and County Monuments, 1921-1941],
[Series 16: Churches and All [Related] Activities, [Such As] Choirs, etc., 1919-1943],
[Series 17: Scenery, Views General, Sky Lines, River Views, 1920-1942],
[Series 18: Commercial: Auto Wrecks, Machines, Commercial Objects, 1921-1933],
[Series 19: Groups and Individuals, Street Clothing, 1920-1942],
[Series 20: Bathers and Groups],
[Series 21: [Bathing] Casinoes, Pools, Water Sports, Aqua Planing, 1919-1936],
[Series 22: Boats, Slips, Docks, Boat Slipping, 1919-1942 (bulk 1919-1927)],
[Series 23: Race Boats and Regattas, 1919-1933],
[Series 24: Fishing, Pleasure and Commercial, Fish, 1910s-1939],
[Series 25: Polo and Around Grounds, 1920-1928],
[Series 26: Golf Players and Individuals, 1922-1929],
[Series 27: Golf Clubs and Grounds, General Views and Tournaments, 1919-1941],
[Series 28: Schools and All [Related] Activities, 1919-1934],
[Series 29: Other Sports, Dog and Horse Races, Baseball, Jai Alai, Tennis, etc., 1920-1940],
[Series 30: Indians, 1920-1932],
[Series 31: Farming, Groves, Gardens, Tractors, Implements, Products, 1920-1941],
[Series 32: Dairies and Products, All Kinds of Livestock, Poultry, 1919-1942],
[Series 33: Animals: Pets, Birds, Elephants, Dogs, Monkeys, etc., 1920-1929],
[Series 34: Air Views, Local, Also from Tall Buildings, 1919-1936],
[Series 35: Air Views, not Local (Except Everglades National Park Area), 1923-1931],
[Series 36: Aviation, Aviators, Planes, All War Pictures, Soldiers, Sailors, 1918?-1939],
[Series 37: Factories and Products],
[Series 38: Storm Pictures, 1919-1935],
[Series 39: Motion Pictures, Making],
[Series 40: Trips to Other Cities or Localities, 1921-1936],
[Series 41: Scouts, Boys and Girls and Similar, 1919-1922],
[Series 42: Outings, Picnics, etc., 1919-1930],
[Series 43: Waterways, Canals (not scenic value), Dredges, Dredging, 1919-1928],
[Series 44: Things and People, Prints cannot be sold],
[Series 45: Copies of Art Objects that we may sell, 1921-1928],
[Series 46: Dancing Classes and Individuals, and All Professional Acts and Actors],
[Series 47: Surgical and Medical, X-rays],
[Series 48: Portraits and Garden Pictures of Individuals],
[Series 49: Commercial Pictures that are for temporary use, 1936-1940],
[Series 50: Everglades National Park Area and All Kinds of Pictures in Area, 1920-1939],
[Series 51: Photographs Matlack did not assign to series 1-50.],
[All]

Series 47: Surgical and Medical, X-raysAdd to your cart.
0 views.

Browse by Series:

[Series 1: Residences in Miami Proper and Grounds, 1919-1928],
[Series 2: Residences in Miami Beach and Grounds, 1921-1943],
[Series 3: Residences Elsewhere, 1924-1930],
[Series 4: Apartments in Miami Proper, 1920-1928],
[Series 5: Apartments in Miami Beach, 1920-1942],
[Series 6: Apartments Elsewhere, 1923-1926],
[Series 7: Hotels in Miami Proper, 1919-1936],
[Series 8: Hotels in Miami Beach, 1920-1942],
[Series 9: Hotels Elsewhere, 1923-1930],
[Series 10: Public Buildings, Stores, Theaters, Garages, Clubs, Hospitals, 1913-1935],
[Series 11: Buildings under Construction, All Kinds, 1925, 1932],
[Series 12: Old Pictures: Views of Places, Streets, Buildings, and Events, 1896-1940 (bulk 1896-1920)],
[Series 13: Development, Construction of All Kinds Except Buildings, 1920-1938],
[Series 14: Street Views, Parades, Bridges, 1919-1943],
[Series 15: Public Parks, Views and City and County Monuments, 1921-1941],
[Series 16: Churches and All [Related] Activities, [Such As] Choirs, etc., 1919-1943],
[Series 17: Scenery, Views General, Sky Lines, River Views, 1920-1942],
[Series 18: Commercial: Auto Wrecks, Machines, Commercial Objects, 1921-1933],
[Series 19: Groups and Individuals, Street Clothing, 1920-1942],
[Series 20: Bathers and Groups],
[Series 21: [Bathing] Casinoes, Pools, Water Sports, Aqua Planing, 1919-1936],
[Series 22: Boats, Slips, Docks, Boat Slipping, 1919-1942 (bulk 1919-1927)],
[Series 23: Race Boats and Regattas, 1919-1933],
[Series 24: Fishing, Pleasure and Commercial, Fish, 1910s-1939],
[Series 25: Polo and Around Grounds, 1920-1928],
[Series 26: Golf Players and Individuals, 1922-1929],
[Series 27: Golf Clubs and Grounds, General Views and Tournaments, 1919-1941],
[Series 28: Schools and All [Related] Activities, 1919-1934],
[Series 29: Other Sports, Dog and Horse Races, Baseball, Jai Alai, Tennis, etc., 1920-1940],
[Series 30: Indians, 1920-1932],
[Series 31: Farming, Groves, Gardens, Tractors, Implements, Products, 1920-1941],
[Series 32: Dairies and Products, All Kinds of Livestock, Poultry, 1919-1942],
[Series 33: Animals: Pets, Birds, Elephants, Dogs, Monkeys, etc., 1920-1929],
[Series 34: Air Views, Local, Also from Tall Buildings, 1919-1936],
[Series 35: Air Views, not Local (Except Everglades National Park Area), 1923-1931],
[Series 36: Aviation, Aviators, Planes, All War Pictures, Soldiers, Sailors, 1918?-1939],
[Series 37: Factories and Products],
[Series 38: Storm Pictures, 1919-1935],
[Series 39: Motion Pictures, Making],
[Series 40: Trips to Other Cities or Localities, 1921-1936],
[Series 41: Scouts, Boys and Girls and Similar, 1919-1922],
[Series 42: Outings, Picnics, etc., 1919-1930],
[Series 43: Waterways, Canals (not scenic value), Dredges, Dredging, 1919-1928],
[Series 44: Things and People, Prints cannot be sold],
[Series 45: Copies of Art Objects that we may sell, 1921-1928],
[Series 46: Dancing Classes and Individuals, and All Professional Acts and Actors],
[Series 47: Surgical and Medical, X-rays],
[Series 48: Portraits and Garden Pictures of Individuals],
[Series 49: Commercial Pictures that are for temporary use, 1936-1940],
[Series 50: Everglades National Park Area and All Kinds of Pictures in Area, 1920-1939],
[Series 51: Photographs Matlack did not assign to series 1-50.],
[All]


Page Generated in: 0.803 seconds (using 198 queries).
Using 7.09MB of memory. (Peak of 8MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.13 rev-1
Copyright ©2010 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign