Log In | Contact Us | View Cart (0 items)
Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Record Groups

Tuttle family papers and photographs

Overview

Abstract

Scope and Contents

Administrative Information

Detailed Description

Papers

Photographs



Contact us about this collection

Tuttle family papers and photographs, 1889-1954 | HistoryMiami Archives & Research Center

By Archives staff and Rebecca A. Smith

Printer-friendly Printer-friendly | Email Us Contact Us About This Collection

Collection Overview

Title: Tuttle family papers and photographs, 1889-1954Add to your cart.View associated digital content.

Predominant Dates:1895-1898

Creator: Tuttle family.

Extent: 0.6 Linear Feet

Date Acquired: 00/00/1975

Languages: English

Abstract

Correspondence, documents and photographs relating to Julia Tuttle, her father William Sturtevant, and her children. Includes letters from Henry Flagler to Julia Tuttle concerning the extension of the F.E.C. Railway to Miami. Photographs are mainly of the Tuttles and the Miami River environs.

Scope and Contents of the Materials

Papers: Correspondence, legal and financial documents, and biographical material. The bulk of the correspondence is dated 1895-1898, is addressed to Julia Tuttle, and deals with business transactions; principal correspondents are Henry Flagler and J. E. Ingraham. Legal documents include warranty deeds, a photocopy of Julia Tuttle's will of 1889, a certified copy of her 1896 will, and abstracts of the legal maneuvers that took place after her death. Also included is information on the Tuttle family, some 1950s material on events honoring Julia Tuttle, and the typescript of For Julia, a biographical novel written by Florida author Zachary Ball (pseudonym of Kelly Ray Masters)

Photographs: studio portraits of Julia Tuttle, William Sturtevant, husband Frederick Tuttle, son Henry Tuttle, daughter Frances Emmalie Tuttle, family and friends. Views of Fort Dallas, the Miami River area, and the Tuttle home in Cleveland, Ohio. Most views are albumen prints, ranging in size from carte-de-visite to about 8 x 10 inches.

Administrative Information

Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.

Physical Access Note: As a preservation measure, researchers must use photocopies, photographic copies and digital images.

Acquisition Source: Chapman, Stella Tuttle

Acquisition Method: Gift of Stella Tuttle Chapman and the Tuttle family, 1975.

Separated Materials: Related artifacts are in HistoryMiami's objects collection.

Preferred Citation: Tuttle family papers, HistoryMiami


Box and Folder Listing


Browse by Series:

[Series 1: Papers, 1895-1954],
[Series 2: Photographs],
[All]

Series 1: Papers, 1895-1954Add to your cart.
Folder 1: Letters from Henry Flagler to Julia Tuttle, 1895-1898Add to your cart.
Folder 2: Letters from J. E. Ingraham to Julia Tuttle, 1896-1898Add to your cart.
6 items.
Folder 3: Papers, 1910-1954Add to your cart.
Folder 4: Wills and documents, 1896-1907Add to your cart.
Physical Description: 3 items.
Folder 5: Wills of Julia Tuttle, 1889 and 1896Add to your cart.
Folder 6: Family [genealogy] of Henry Ethelbert TuttleAdd to your cart.
Physical Description: Photocopies.
Folder 7: Ball, Zachary. For Julia [novel]Add to your cart.
Physical Description: Carbon copy of typescript. 254 p.
Series 2: PhotographsAdd to your cart.

Mainly albumen prints on original mounts depicting family members and places associated with the Tuttles, especially in Miami.

Copy negatives, contact prints and digital images have been made of most images. Contact prints from 4x5 in copy negatives of the original photographs are located in the Historic Photograph Collection, filed under Tuttle Family or Tuttle, Julia. The original photographs are filed by accession number in the Artifact Photographs series. A photochrom, "Picking Oranges," is stored with the Detroit Photographic Company photochroms collection, box 4 (1975-025-137).



Page Generated in: 1.304 seconds (using 213 queries).
Using 6.55MB of memory. (Peak of 6.82MB.)

Powered by Archon Version 3.13 rev-1
Copyright ©2010 The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign