Log In | Contact Us | View Cart (0 items)
Browse: Collections Digital Content Subjects Creators Record Groups

Miami News photographs

Overview

Abstract

Scope and Contents

Administrative Information

Detailed Description

Photographic prints

Negatives



Contact us about this collection

Miami News photographs, 1896-1988 | HistoryMiami Archives & Research Center

By Rebecca A. Smith and archives staff

Printer-friendly Printer-friendly | Email Us Contact Us About This Collection

Collection Overview

Title: Miami News photographs, 1896-1988Add to your cart.View associated digital content.

Predominant Dates:1940-1988

ID: 02/1989-011

Creator: Miami News

Extent: 187.0 Linear Feet

Arrangement:

The Miami News Collection contains three series: photographic prints, negatives, and other materials.

Series 1, photographic prints, contains three subseries:  (1) topical, (2) biographical, and (3) the Jay Spencer collection. Photographic prints in the topical and biographic subseries are organized in folders using headings created by the Miami News; the folders are arranged alphabetically.

Series 2, negatives, are mostly arranged by size, photographer and date, and retain their original order. Each envelope contains one photo shoot/assignment, and may contain one to 100 items.

Series 2, negatives, is arranged in three subseries:  (1) 35mm negatives, 1973-1980; (2) 35mm negatives, 1978-1988; and (3) Our Sunday Portrait, various subjects and World War II in Miami area, 1941-1965.

Languages: English

Abstract

Photographic prints and negatives of people, places and events in Miami-Dade County, Florida and the Caribbean area. Photographs were shot by staff photographers or collected by the news library.

Scope and Contents of the Materials

The Miami News photographs document events, places, and people in Dade County and, to a less extent, Monroe County, Broward County, Cuba, the Bahamas, and the West Indies. Images that record the corporate history of the Miami News are also included.

Administrative Information

Access Restrictions: The collection is open for research.

Use Restrictions: Permission from HistoriyMiami Archives staff required prior to reproduction of photographs in a publication. Please contact archives staff for more information.

Acquisition Source: The Miami News and Cox Enterprises

Acquisition Method:

During the 1980s, the Miami News donated a number of negatives and prints to the Historical Museum of Southern Florida. In 1989, after the Miami News had ceased publication, Cox Enterprises, the Miami News’ parent company, disposed of the paper’s assests. Through the efforts of Howard Kleinberg and David Kraslow, Cox Enterprises gave the historically important materials to the Historical Museum of Southern Florida,

Several smaller groups of photographic prints from the Miami News morgue have been donated by photographers and a historian who had borrowed them from the paper prior to 1989.

Appraisal Information: HASF staff selected the most significant photographic print files, about 25,000 out of 200,000 images. Selection criteria included: 1) images pertaining to Dade and Monroe counties, Bahamas, and the Caribbean; 2) preference for images by Miami News photographers, rather than wire service photos; and 3) files predating 1974 (images later than 1973 are in the negatives). Biographical files were selected using lists from several biographical directories as well as archivists’ knowledge of state and local history. A number of historically significant biographical files were probably missed, as time for selection of files was limited. After HASF’s initial selection of photographic prints, the Palm Beach Post library added a number of images to their paper’s files. HASF staff then selected another group of prints, and integrated them into the collection. The remainder were then destroyed.

Related Materials:

Related artifacts are in HistoryMiami's objects collection.

Additional photographic prints from the Miami News are in the Palm Beach Post library, West Palm Beach, Florida.

Related Publications:

Bellamy, Jeanne. Newspapers of America's Last Frontier. In Tequesta, no. XII (1952). Includes a history of the newspaper from its founding to 1952.

Kleinberg, Howard. Miami: the Way We Were. Miami: Miami-Daily News, 1985. Short articles illustrated with photographs from the Miami News photographs collection.

Preferred Citation: Miami News Collection, HistoryMiami, [control number]


Box and Folder Listing


Browse by Series:

[Series 1: Photographic prints, circa 1940-1988 December],
[Series 2: Negatives, circa 1940-1988 (bulk 1973-1988)],
[All]